Fantastic new book called The Black Petal by Dan Thompson – looks and sounds great. Good luck Dan.

The Black Petal Cover and Synopsis

October 10, 2012 by danpentagram

It’s about time my book had a front cover and i’m happy to say here it is. This is only a mock start up one mind you and not the finished design. I have designed it myself with photos used from Photopin. I am by no means a graphics designer and i only have the most basic of graphics programs so to say this is my first go, i am quite pleased. If i were to self publish the book failing to find a publisher i would of course pay for an expert to design the final cover.

This cover actually depicts a real scene in my story. Both Jack and Lucia are travelling in search of the black flower. To do so they must ascend the gigantic mountain range known as Kackar Dagi. All is not as it seems however as they reach the top …

I am also happy to share with you a short synopsis, which i hope may whet your appetite.

The Black Petal is a Young Adult Fantasy novel, following the story of Jack, a teenager from the present and of Blake, a Victorian assassin. Plucked from their homes they awaken in a new land; a realm of fantasy and myth. Jack and Blake are drawn into a war between two rival races, an event prophesised by an exiled gypsy known only as Eliza. They must each chose a side, Jack wants to get home, but Blake wants revenge and as the battle comes to a head, they realise they have unwittingly chosen different sides.

In this new realm, Jack meets crimson haired Lucia and together they build a bond. As Jack meets the Amazon Queen, he is sent on a quest to recover a rare black flower to trade for his freedom. A creepy Oracle has persuaded the Amazon Queen that the black petal will summon a powerful god who can grant victory to them. A prophecy told long ago tells of a boy from another time that can discover this petal and the Amazon Queen is certain Jack is this boy.

As Jack and Lucia guide each other across this unknown land they are chased by mysterious creatures who want to kill them. They must travel over the mountain range, but with these peculiar Empusae on their heels, it isn’t an easy journey and with war looming on the horizon, there must be only one winner. Which side will prevail? Will Jack reach the petal in time or will he succumb to the yapping jaws of the Empusae? The Black Petal is the first adventure in an exciting new trilogy of magic and myth …

This synopsis is for you guys really and i must partly thank a few people for helping me out. Without going into too much detail i must thank authors Rich Pitman, Keris Stainton and Dionne Lister for their advice and also Jack Croxall who gave the longer synopsis a once over for me. I must also thank my best friend Charlotte, who has supported me for years and offered her friendly advice on countless occasions.

The path to publication has now begun, but it is a long one filled with apprehension and jittery excitement. Will I be successful in aquiring an agent or publisher? Or will I selfpublish? I hope you all stick with me to find out

