Creative Writing with the Crimson League

laskenayI got to thinking today: what draws a writer to a genre? Is it the thought of a challenge? Of exploring something new? Is it that the familiarity of favorite reading material gives one the comfort and security to write in that genre (whatever it is) despite doubts and a lack of confidence?

I’m sure it varies from one writer to another, from one personality type to another. Some writers dabble in different genres, while others stick with one for their entire careers, over the span of years.

I can only speak for myself when it comes to this topic: I have written five novels, all leaning toward fantasy or blatant fantasy. None take place in the real world, all but one involves magic, and all involve a culture rather like the Renaissance or late Middle Ages in terms of technology. I always say I would like to branch out…

View original post 540 more words

