Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Screen Shot 2013-05-06 at 12.06.02 PMOne strange and unexpected side effect of turning my creative writing blog’s backlog into a writer’s handbook is that somehow, I’m finding it harder and harder to find subjects to write blog posts about.

Why, though?

Looking back on a post I wrote giving advice about how to convert your blog into a book, you’ll notice one suggestion is to make sure you have some new content.

New content is really important in a book that gets its start as a blog. First, you need to give people an incentive to buy your book. On top of that, I feel responsible to provide something new–something people can’t find for free here on the blog–if I’m going to ask them to pay for the book. That’s just honest business and basic integrity.

Sure, lots of the material can come from previously published posts that you rework and expand upon and…

View original post 388 more words

